Docs & Film Festivals

The website for documentary & film festival enthusiasts. Subscribe to our posts about which docs to watch and film festivals to visit.

Top 20 films from Sheffield Doc/Fest Audience Awards

5 Broken Cameras by Emad Burnat & Guy Davidi (2011) won the audience awards at Sheffield Doc/Fest, followed by Searching for Sugar Man and Man with a Movie Camera. The top 20 list was announced today on the film festival´s website.

1. 5 Broken Cameras
2.  Searching for Sugar Man
3. Man with a Movie Camera
4. The Story of Film: An Odyssey 
5. Seven/Seven
6. Jai Bhim Comrade
7. One Mile Away
8. Ping Pong
9. !Vivan Las Antipodas!
10. Evidently…John Cooper Clarke
11. Glory Road
12. Jason Becker: Not Dead Yet
13. How to Survive a Plague
14. Baka: A Cry from the Rainforest
15. From the Sea to the Land Beyond
16. The Punk Syndrome 
17. Marina Abramovic: The Artist Is Present 
18. Planet of Snail
19. Big Boys Gone BANANAS!*
20. Question Bridge: Black Males

Audience awards was also given to the best short documentary; The Globe Collector dir. by Summer DeRoche (2012) according to an Australian Film Magazine, Film Ink. As of now, there is no info on this on Sheffield Doc/Fest´s website but the list might be published in the coming days. It´s not surprising The Globe Collector won the audience award for best short documentary. It´s a brilliant, humourous and sweet portrait of light globe collector Andre Pullen who has been diagnosed with Asberger´s syndrome. Pullen has over 10,000 globes and in the documentary the audience get to learn about the biggest passion in his life. See also another Docs & Film Festivals post on the documentary here.

It had previously been announced that The Special Jury Award was awarded to Marina Abramovic: The Artist Is Present  (dir. Matthew Akers/ USA, 2012) and two docs received a Special Mention;  Call Me Kuchu (Dir. Malika Zouhali-­Worrall, Katherine Fairfax-Wright/ USA, 2012) and The Reluctant Revolutionary (Dir. Sean McAllister/ UK, 2012). The Sheffield Youth Jury Award was awarded to Photographic Memory (Dir. Ross McElwee/ USA, France, 2011) and Indie Game: The Movie (Dir. Lisanne Pajot, James Swirsky/ Canada, 2012, 103 mins) received a Special Mention. Other awards were as follows:

Sheffield Innovation Award:

Bear 71 (Dir. Leanne Allison, Jeremy Mendes/ Canada, 2011).

– Special Mention to Question Bridge: Black Males (USA, 2012).

Sheffield Green Award:
Law of The Jungle (Dir. Michael Christoffersen, Hans la Cour/ Denmark, 2012).

– Special mention to The Island President (Dir. Jon Shenk/ USA, 2011).

Student Doc Award:

The Betrayal (Dir. Karen Winther/ UK, Norway, 2011).

The EDA award for Best Female, awarded by the Alliance of Women Film Journalists, Inc.:

Up The Stairs (Dir. Rokhsareh Ghaem Maghami/ Iran, 2011).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: